Pictures, Uncategorized

Akio-san’s Work Party

Yesterday I went to a party for Akio-san’s company with Akio-san, Nami-san, Ryo, and Nami-san’s mom. I had asked my friends to come but none of them did (*cries*). It was held at this super fancy hotel and had all this super-fancy food. That’s one perk of having a rich host dad. I enjoyed getting another chance to dress up, though I regret not bringing an actual suit. It was funny, everyone was wearing dark suits and ties except Akio-san, who was wearing a light brown jacket and pants and no tie. I guess he can do what he wants because he’s the president haha. We were also let in ahead of everyone else, which was pretty cool. Akio-san’s sister and Kana-chan’s (the one I met when I first came to Japan) mother were there too. We all stood around drinking and listening to speeches and eating great food; it was a lot less boring than I thought it would be. Though I felt bad for Ryo, who was by far the youngest one there. There were also randomly sumos there, whom I took a picture with.

Me, Ryo, and a famous sumo at Akio-san's work party.

Me, Ryo, and a famous sumo at Akio-san’s work party.

After that the housewives and I went to a restaurant that served Osaka food and drink. Everyone kept telling me my Japanese got a lot better, which made me really happy. It was a very interesting conversation. We talked about how Japanese guys want girls to stay home and do the housework, and how after a certain age it’s very difficult for Japanese women to marry. I told them they should be able to follow their dreams and find a job they like instead of being stuck at home, which they were happy about. We also talked about how they had learned to stop fighting with their husbands because it just ends up badly, so when their husbands get angry they just stay calm and don’t fight back, and then usually the next morning the husband will apologize. I thought it was probably not good to just not fight back, but admitted that I didn’t have enough experience to know really. Then we got to talking about Akio-san. This is where I probably crossed a line. I told them what I really thought–that he shouldn’t treat Tatsuo-san so badly since he basically has everything he has because of him. Apparently though he may have had a sort of rough childhood and I think they didn’t get along well back then either. Deep down though, Nami-san said he loves his dad, and he’s kind at heart. Apparently, Nami-san and Akio-san fight more often than I realize, I’m just usually not there. I told her she was too nice for taking his shit. In hindsight I probably shouldn’t have said all those things, but I was drunk haha. I did apologize for it but she said there was nothing to apologize for.

Anyway it’s the morning after now and everything seems normal so I guess it’s fine. I should really try to be more careful with my words and overstepping my boundaries. I’m only a host student here, so I don’t really have the right to judge. Aaanyway, I might be seeing Kyary Pamyu Pamyu on Friday for her 21st birthday celebration! Is this real life??

Have some good muziks.

Standard

Leave a comment